The new Graduate Division of Biomedical Sciences has been established under the School of Biomedical Sciences since 1 August 2009 to replace the Divisions of Anatomy, Biochemistry (Medicine), Pharmacology and Physiology. This new Division, which is built on the strength of the four former Divisions, continues to devote much attention to undertake quality research training of postgraduate students. To further strengthen basic theoretical and methodological training in research and to enhance in-depth research of the highest standard, the new articulated MPhil-PhD programme will be introduced in the academic year 2010/2011 in replacement of all separate MPhil and PhD programmes of the Division. In other words, postgraduate students will be offered admission only to the new articulated programme in 2010/2011 and thereafter, and no separate MPhil and PhD programmes of the Division will accept new intakes from the same academic year onwards. Details of the programme are provided below:

The following programme will be offered in 2010/2011 and thereafter:
MPhil-PhD in Biomedical Sciences

The following programmes will not accept new enrolments in 2010/2011 and thereafter:

  • PhD in Anatomy
  • MPhil in Anatomy
  • PhD in Biochemistry (Medicine)
  • MPhil in Biochemistry (Medicine)
  • PhD in Pharmacology
  • MPhil in Pharmacology
  • PhD in Physiology
  • MPhil in Physiology
For General Enquiries:
Address : Division of Biomedical Sciences,
Room LG111, Choh-ming Li Basic Medical Sciences Building,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shatin, N.T., Hong Kong
Tel. no. : 2609-6869 / 2609-6782
Fax no. : 2603-5031
Website :
Email :
Additional information can be obtained from:

Graduate School
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Copyright © 2014 School of Biomedical Sciences. The Chinese University of Hong Kong. Disclaimer and Privacy Policy